Documenting & Researching Night Terrors

Night Terror Experience

I’ve been researching some of other people’s experiences and I must say, I’m glad to know I’m not alone.

Thanks Hubpages:

“Sometimes certain medications can trigger night terrors. Benadryl and other antihistamines would cause a night terror every single time, despite doctor’s suggestions that they would have the opposite effect.

I recall one particularly bad episode which lasted well over an hour where we thought my brother was possessed. He picked up and threw a sofa halfway across the room, despite the fact that it weighed more than he did. He then proceeded to run into the bathroom and, light as a feather, scrambled with his hands and feet clean up corner of the tiled walls to slam against the ceiling. He crashed down into the tub and cracked the porcelain soap dish in half on his chin, but never once did he awaken.

Treatment for night terrors can be difficult as not much in the way of definitive research is present. My brother, who prefers to remain anonymous, told me what it was like. He said the real world was overlaid by a nightmarish one, turning the familiar and loving home into a den of horrors. A wall might appear to be hung in chains or made of rusted iron. Leather sofas might be torture equipment from the medieval period, and so on. That is why it is imperative that one never approach someone undergoing a night terror. In the midst of their nightmare, they see their friends and loved ones as horrific and malicious beings who are only interested in doing harm.”

Thanks Nightterros Forum:

Jannawat posts: “Too Petrified to go to sleep. I know that sadly, some of you can relate… I have grown a tolerance to my meds and they dont work anymore, and the dosage cant be raised either. Im just tired and scared and frustrated. I know someone out there understands.  I would just stay up but I have stuff that has to get done tomorrow.”

Scot1 posts: “They said my heart was beating over 125 beats per minute and they even asked me if I ever use ecstasy (i haven’t).  (edit: they also said that my heart rate was a steady 100 beats per minute the majority of the time I was lying down aside from the night terrors).

All I remember is I was on a red sofa in a room and there were nurses around me and they would not let me get up and they felt very evil.  It was a hallucination, I’m fairly positive.  I was going through this in my sleep but I also saw it with my eyes open as the technician was waking me up.  When I was have conscious I remember mumbling “they wont let me get up”.

It doesn’t sound like much, but it was at the time!

As I awoke I freaked out and ripped some of the wires off of me (which took 30 minutes to put back on). Apparently I wasn’t screaming this time but was shouting “no” and screaming other things.  Through out the years I’ve had a number of screaming terrors (that I can remember).

The technicians said it looked like I didn’t have very many apnea episodes.  My sleep doctor thinks I grew out of sleep apnea and attributes it to poor sleep habits and other things.  I had to talk him into this second study.”
WolfNymph posts: “That’s truely frightening…  An old elementary school classmate of mine had a simila experience where she was sleepwalking and jumped out of her third story bedroom window, breaking her hip from the fall.  Besides the emotional consequences of night terrors, the physically harmful possibilities are scary too.  Cup o’ chamomile for me everynight, I don’t want to end up in that kind of situation.” (this is regarding the case of a 41 year old man who jumped out of his 1st story window that was storm proofed with insulation and metal curtains)

Thanks Ezinearticles: “The difference between nightmares and night terrors are that during a night terror you are not fully asleep, in fact you feel as if you are completely awake and this makes what you are experiencing feel very real and so much more scarier.”

Thanks Everything2NightTerrors: “I suffered from them for about a year and the expirence was unreal. Dreams of pure evil and fear materializing in different forms (a 3 year old girl in her pjs with the features of a withered old woman floating outside the window). Long dreams of paralysis while evil hovered above you and you’re trying to scream or move or somehow get somebody to wake you up but it feels like your brain can’t send the messages anymore (it really can’t). Everything being covered in fear (sort of like Nausea by Jean-Paul Sartre). Waking up in dreams over and over again until you think you’ve lost the ability to truly wake up.”

One response

  1. Interesting post. Strange indeed is the human mind!

    March 6, 2010 at 10:08 am

Leave a Reply

