Documenting & Researching Night Terrors

Scooby Doo & the Art of Coping Part I

Every night, 11:00pm, I bring the final steps of closure to my day while unwinding by watching an episode of Scooby Doo. The only Great Dane I have ever heard of who can dress up like a painter, ghost, pirate or when called upon, John Wayne, to cope with the stresses and demands of the world.

Tonight my favorite episode What a Night for a Knight was aired and I could not help but think how wonderful it would be if we could all be a bit more creative with our coping and stress management. At one point in the episode Scooby dresses up like a painter and begins to pretend to paint the knight, squirting red paint on the set up canvas and then in the knight’s face! To think the knight is trying to capture Scoob- and the Gang, and here he is so creative in his getaway. I suppose nothing grizzly or murderous or remotely treacherous ever happens in Scooby Doo except for a bump on the head and being dressed up like a tiki man, but I can’t help but feel there could be a lesson (obviously not psychology taught by Hannah Barbara) taught here. The lesson would be not to take stresses to heart. Even when managing what life has to throw at you, yes do what you have to do but do it with gusto or creative management.

I think one of the undervalued points and developing skills you should acquire while suffering from night terrors is coping. Often we settle on curing everything but as I have researched and read: Night Terrors can not be cured. They may be temporarily relieved but they will always return. As the subject gets older, he/she ‘s night terrors may subside or fade but there is no known cure. For me, as I know you have read many times, management is the key and a part of management is coping.

Leave a Reply

